The Rock of My Young Age

Skool is in session

In my early years I was a very impressionable kid. I was a sucker to the most popular things and what everyone had. It was a folly that taught me to be more wary of what is “in” today. However there was one movie that I am very glad had an influence on me.

School of Rock.

This movie completely changed my young mind’s perspective on music. I never really thought about what kind of music I liked best at the time.

After watching this movie though, I am a rocker for life.

However it wasn’t only the great music that had such a sway on me. It was the great story and acting that came along with it. To this day Jack Black is one of my all-time favorite actors. His liveliness and ferocity is both hilarious and highly entertaining. The way he approached teaching music to a group of kids in the movie really struck an irrevocable bond I had to the film.

The movie inspired me to pick up the guitar, something that I have been doing for at least 6 years now (not that I’m any good). Even when I watch it today I still get the tingles I felt as an adolescent completely awed to a new world of sights and sounds.

Below are two songs from the movie that still give me goosebumps. I hope you can enjoy them the same way I have for almost ten years now.

About JP Feed

Welcome to the feed. My name is JP. The JP Feed is designed as a host to a league of stories, thoughts, and wonders from the minds of anyone that either is just perusing through or serious readers that want their voice to be heard. Anything from poetry to art to just humorous anecdotes is highly encouraged. Here our main goal is to satiate our hunger for knowledge and ideas.

Posted on February 1, 2012, in Movies and T.V., Music and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Wait a second. You give Jack Black credit and not the dopey dad who forked over the bucks at Guitar Center for several guitars and amps? I should have went to Hollywood.

  2. fuckin awesome movie, had the same affect on my life. I learned smoke on the water and iron man from watching it so many times when i was just starting out at 9 and brought me into the rocking world forever.

Leave a Reply

