Confessions to a Friend

My favorite part of friendship

Please excuse the random picture of a half-moon, I couldn’t find a picture that could accurately portray the contents of this post. Sorry.

I think a lot of people take their friendships for granted. Sometimes we completely forget the history we have with people and only focus on the day by day with friends. There needs to be a reflection of gratitude between friends. A brief description, just a few words about what that person means to you and the time you’ve spent together. This is what I did to over twenty-five friends of mine over Facebook. It was one of those corny “like for an inbox confession” things. I’ll admit I felt kind of dorky spilling my heart out for a bunch of friends most of which I don’t see that much. However my feelings dramatically changed the more I wrote to each person The words almost poured through me. It was almost effortless coming up with the right things I needed to say to each person. At the end I felt awesome. Like I finally got to tell some friends how I actually felt about them throughout our friendships. I got a lot of thanks sometimes even with tears (or near tears) which made it all the more rewarding.

Little cathartic activities like this make me fall in love with writing all over again. Having the power to sway people with words is actually remarkable. There is nothing I love more than moving a person just by scribbling some words on a page. Little gifts like this is what friendships are all about.

About JP Feed

Welcome to the feed. My name is JP. The JP Feed is designed as a host to a league of stories, thoughts, and wonders from the minds of anyone that either is just perusing through or serious readers that want their voice to be heard. Anything from poetry to art to just humorous anecdotes is highly encouraged. Here our main goal is to satiate our hunger for knowledge and ideas.

Posted on January 3, 2012, in Random/Miscellaneous and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

