Dreams

The only place where you can handle an adventure: Your mind

Most of us dreamed about being super stars when we were young. Be it an astronaut, NFL player, Indiana Jones, or a Ninja we all wanted to be extraordinary. The thing is that we had what we were looking for all along, we just didn’t realize it. Inside our feeble heads is a vessel that takes us to another world. A world filled with the women/men you always wanted, the cars you sought to drive, and the experiences beyond our feasible reality. Why do I blog about dreams? Because it is something taken for granted and I am sick of it! Ever since my psychology class covered the subject, I always wondered about the presence of this spectacular phenomena. Man has been making attempts to explain dreams for thousands of years. Even today’s theories are not that convincing but there are a few that make some sense. What I dream about is usually influenced by what I did that day, who I spoke to, or what I thought about. However, sometimes I have crazy dreams that are completely random. Dream interpretation also seems to hold some weight because I do remember looking up the meaning of dreams and finding answers that are relevant to my life. My main fascination with dreams is that it takes me to a place where my imagination can truly run rampant and I can do things that I only exist in what I call the “mirror world”. There are dark sides to everything in life and I am also plagued with nightmares on occasion. In fact, when I was very young I suffered severe night terrors for many years. A night terror is different than a nightmare. In a night terror, the person wakes up screaming and inconsolable for minutes even a half hour at a time. Nothing can help the person and the screaming does not stop until the child falls back asleep. The worst part is that I never once remembered waking up in the middle of the night screaming. The only reason I know I did was because my parents and siblings told me their melancholy tales of me ruining their precious night’s sleep. As you can see, I have a personal connection to nocturnal activities. While there is no ultimate point or goal to this post, I do want people to realize that they don’t need to travel anywhere to have an adventure or have a crazy, wild time. Things like latent dreaming, projections, and accounts of childhood memories are all products of our complex minds. Don’t go to bed to sleep, go to bed to dream on…

Image: nattavut / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

About JP Feed

Welcome to the feed. My name is JP. The JP Feed is designed as a host to a league of stories, thoughts, and wonders from the minds of anyone that either is just perusing through or serious readers that want their voice to be heard. Anything from poetry to art to just humorous anecdotes is highly encouraged. Here our main goal is to satiate our hunger for knowledge and ideas.

Posted on August 24, 2011, in Random/Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

