Where We Came From and Where We’re Going

We’re all part of one big sweaty melting pot.

It’s hard to imagine ourselves without knowing where we came from. In a way it defines us on a subconscious level, without us even realizing it. A tattoo, a temperament, a necklace, a name, all things that are made by our heritage. Some acknowledge it proudly while others do not even care who their great-great-great-great grandfather was or what he did. The fact is that our identities are tied to our genes whether we like it or not. We’re better off embracing where we came from because it can help tell us who we will be.

I’ve noticed a sudden craze in Italianos recently, most notably with the country’s guilty pleasure Jersey Shore. I am not Italian so I could never know what that feels like. I have seen many Italians and from what I have measured, a lot are genuinely good people. Needless to say I have also seen plenty of guidos and other types of idiots waving the Italia flag. A lot of muscleheads with tan Italian-like features frequent the local gyms around where I live. Now I can’t be certain that these people are Italian but I believe beyond a reasonable doubt that they are. American Italians seem so far off from their homeland counterparts that the only visible connection is their names. They have traded their passions of food, culture, and camaraderie for instant pleasures like women and alcohol. I am not bashing an entire ethnicity but merely pointing out some growing concerns I’ve noticed lately. I have Italian friends that are the coolest people I know, heck my four siblings are Italian (different father). What I am trying to say is that sometimes we try to let our egos inflate higher than the sky all in the name of our homeland. This is a distorted perspective which I hope people start noticing more.

As I am typing this sentence I over hear the Spanish laid conversations of the Mexican workers laboring on my neighbor’s back porch.It reminds me greatly why this country is as great as it is. We are all a multi-colored foundation that are the best at doing what we do. Spanish Americans are noticed for their work ethic and durability. They come from lands that are scorching hot almost all year around. Living near the equator is not an easy thing. If I ever had to live near there I would probably fry like an egg on the sidewalk. Their people migrated to our country in search of a better life, just like everyone else. The difference is that their country is one of the poorest in the world and the closest to our country. It is inevitable that people would start sneaking through the border because they are at a state of desperation we never lived through. I am not justifying their illegal actions but merely explaining where they came from. If we all just knew where we came from it would help us decide our future.

Edmund Burke said: “Those who don’t know history are destined to repeat it.” This is also true for lineage. If we do not recognize the mistakes made by our people we are doomed to repeat them. That is why we need to write a new chapter and make the perception of the world change for the better. Without those before you, your life would have never been possible. Honor and respect your heritage because it played an important role in shaping who you are today. Take this knowledge and better yourself not only for your own sake, but for the sake of humanity.

About JP Feed

Welcome to the feed. My name is JP. The JP Feed is designed as a host to a league of stories, thoughts, and wonders from the minds of anyone that either is just perusing through or serious readers that want their voice to be heard. Anything from poetry to art to just humorous anecdotes is highly encouraged. Here our main goal is to satiate our hunger for knowledge and ideas.

Posted on August 11, 2011, in Random/Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I am very FOND(ue) of this melting pot…

    spread the humor:charlywalker.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

